Marvin Smith Memorial Pre-Regi...
Cottage Grove Speedway Returns...
D. Redmond And King Win During...
Cottage Grove Returns For $5.0...
Marvin Smith Memorial Pre-Regi...

Marvin Smith Memorial Pre-Regi...

5/17/2016 -
Driver registration forms are now available for the Marvin Smith Memorial Race!! You can find them on the website under the driver info tab or call Heather at 541-729-8666 to get registered
Cottage Grove Speedway Returns...

Cottage Grove Speedway Returns...

5/16/2016 -
Cottage Grove Speedway Returns For Armed Forces Night On Saturday May 21st; Karts On Friday May 20th By Ben Deatherage Cottage Grove, Oregon- After getting rained out last Saturday, Cottage


5/14/2016 -
We are very sorry to say it but the weather has won out again this weekend. With the large amounts of rain that we have already had and what is still being forecasted we just don't see any
D. Redmond And King Win During...

D. Redmond And King Win During...

5/13/2016 -
D. Redmond And King Win During Firday Night Thriller At CGS By Ben Deatherage Cottage Grove, Oregon- If you missed the May 13th $5.00 Fast Friday then you missed one of the best races of the
Cottage Grove Returns For $5.0...

Cottage Grove Returns For $5.0...

5/11/2016 -
Cottage Grove Returns For $5.00 Admission On Friday; Senior High School Students FREE Admission On Saturday For Grad Night By Ben Deatherage Cottage Grove, Oregon- This weekend will be a bus

Track Profile

CGS Hopes To Have Another Tight IMCA Modified Point Battle In 2014

CGS Hopes To Have Another Tight IMCA Modified Point Battle In 2014

CGS Hopes To Have Another Tight IMCA Modified Point Battle In 2014
By Ben Deatherage
(Photo Courtesy of Hull Family Photography)
Cottage Grove, Oregon- Last year fans of the Cottage Grove Speedway witnessed an exciting points battle between Braedon Hand and Curtis Towns with the championship coming down to just one single point. In 2014 the Cottage Grove Speedway will be back with the IMCA Modifieds with a total of sixteen events scheduled through the course of the year. Also to note is that there have been three different champions in as many years with Towns winning the title in 2011, Troy McElroy in 2012, and of course last year’s champion Braedon Hand.

Braedon Hand and Curtis Towns have been contenders for the championship on a regular basis as both have finished with in the top five in points for at least the last five years. This year Braedon Hand looks for his fifth career championship at CGS while Curtis Towns is in search of his second.

Last year there were seven different main event winners in twelve events with Curtis Towns leading the win column with his three victories. Drivers that managed to win twice in 2013 included Braedon Hand, Jesse Williamson, and Craig Hanson. 2012 has seven different winners in eleven with eventual champion Troy McElroy topping the list in main event victories, with a total of four, while Jason Kocks was the only multiple feature winner with two wins that season.

Some dates to look forward to in 2014 will be the return of the annual Cottage Grove Speedway Modified Nationals this time being ran on Friday June 27th and Saturday the 28th. Also “The Grove” will host two mid-week races during the very popular Wild West Modified Speedweek. Those two dates are Tuesday July 22nd and Wednesday the 23rd.

In the last ten seasons there have been six different champions in the IMCA Modifieds. And of those six only two have managed to put together multiple titles in that time span. Those drivers are Jason Kocks (2004 and 2006) and Braedon Hand (2008, 2009, 2010, and 2013).

Be sure and don’t miss a minute of the action at the Cottage Grove Speedway this season. To find out the latest news and information regarding CGS log on to

Former Cottage Grove Speedway IMCA Modified Champions
1992- Bruce Ray
1993- Robert Hand
1994- Robert Hand
1995- Robert Hand
1996- Mike Phillips
1997- Jeremy Cooper
1998- Gus Cooper
1999- Jason Kocks
2000- Jason Kocks
2001- Aaron Sheelar
2002- Robert Hand
2003- Robert Hand
2004- Jason Kocks
2005- Aaron Sheelar
2006- Jason Kocks
2007- Gus Cooper
2008- Braedon Hand
2009- Braedon Hand
2010- Braedon Hand
2011- Curtis Towns
2012- Troy McElroy
2013- Braedon Hand

Forgot Password?