Cottage Grove Speedway

  • 1
The Ultimate Door To Door, Wheel To Wheel Action!

The Ultimate Door To Door, Wheel To Wheel Action!

Witness some of the funnest, fastest and fiercest racing action at Cottage Grove.

Peters, Towns, Comer, Osborne, Forte, Martin win titles at CGS


Cottage Grove Speedway

Peters, Towns, Comer, Osborne, Forte, Martin win titles at CGS

COTTAGE GROVE, Ore. – Six drivers took home track championships at the ¼-mile Cottage Grove Speedway on Friday, September 17. Rain washed out the racing scheduled for September 18.

Mike Peters won the Late Models title, Curtis Towns won the IMCA Modifieds crown, Shane Forte came out on top in Todd’s Auto Body Sprints, Dustin Comer won the Royalty Core IMCA Sportmods title, Graig Osborne won in Street Stocks, and Brad Martin took home top honors in IMCA Sport Compacts.

In Late Models, Mark Thompson set fast time with a lap of 13.977 seconds. Heat races were won by Preston Luckman and Wayne Butler. Mike Taylor started the 30-lap main from the pole, but Luckman made his way from 10th to the lead before the halfway point and held on for the win over Thompson, BJ Donofrio, Rob Campos and Randy Barley. Cottage Grove’s Peters took eighth, but won the title by 23 points over Barley on the strength of two wins and nine top-five finishes.

In IMCA Modifieds, Bricen James was fast qualifier with a lap of 14.422 seconds. Heat races were won by Eric Ashley and Chad Groves. Groves started the 25-lap main on pole, but James won after starting third. Behind James were Groves, Paul Rea, Ashley and Towns. Towns of Cottage Grove won the championship by six points over Jake Mayden on the virtue of two wins and 20 top-10 finishes in 21 starts.

In Todd’s Auto Body Sprints, Bailey Hibbard set fast time in qualifying with a lap of 11.763 seconds. Heat races were won by Johnny Burke and Carley Holmes. Burke started the 25-lap main on pole and took the wire-to-wire win over Holmes, Kyle Alberding, Steven Snawder and Forte. Junction City’s Forte won the title by a comfortable 124 points over Pat Desbiens on the strength of one win and 12 top-10 finishes in 13 races.

In Royalty Core IMCA Sportmods, Jorddon Braaten set fast time with 15.298 seconds. Heat races were won by Ryan Peery, Ray Comer and Dustin Comer. Ray Comer started the 10-lap feature on pole, while Dustin Comer came from eighth to win over Aaron Bloom, Justin Ryker, Jordan Henry and Daniel Ray. Springfield’s Dustin Comer won the championship by 77 points over Ray Bloom by notching six wins and 16 top-five finishes in 19 races.

In Street Stocks, Osborne was easily top qualifier with a lap of 16.578 seconds. Osborne won the heat race while Jody Tanner started the 20-lap feature first. Taunton Swaim started third and took the win over Kyle Coen, Osborne, Tanner and Michael Hollingsworth. Osborne claimed the title by 73 points over Swaim by notching seven wins and 14 top-5 finishes in 14 starts.

In IMCA Sport Compacts, Burnie Bryant set fast time with a lap of 19.007 seconds. Cole Trissell and Jim Simmons won the heat races, with Trissell starting the 20-lap main from the pole. Kerry Cooper started fourth and took the win over Bryant, Trissell, Martin and Michael Kennerly. Martin won the championship by 27 points over Cooper after notching one win and 12 top-five finishes in 16 races.

Submitted By: Heather Boyce

Back to News

Our Partners

Coors Light
Hoosier Racing Tires
Fuel N Go
Welt Elements
Bonanza Drive-Up
Speedway Motors IMCA Weekly Series
Giant Burger
Pink House
Rock Auto
Clark Printing Co.
Wezels Farm
Dots Trophy Shop
Farmlands Market
Todds Auto Body
Contingency Connection Racer
Best Western
Moose Lodge
Royalty Core
Racing Junk

Contact Us