Cottage Grove Speedway

    Justin Sanders Wins Speedweek Northwest Title And Marvin Smith Memorial Grove Classic Finale; Trenchard And Ray Also CGS Victors


    Cottage Grove Speedway

    Justin Sanders Wins Speedweek Northwest Title And Marvin Smith Memorial Grove Classic Finale; Trenchard And Ray Also CGS Victors

    Justin Sanders Wins Speedweek Northwest Title And Marvin Smith Memorial Grove Classic Finale; Trenchard And Ray Also CGS Victors
    (Photo Courtesy of Jason Patterson)
    Cottage Grove, Oregon- Speedweek Northwest went out with a bang on Saturday, July 30th, as Cottage Grove Speedway hosted the group for the fourth time in five nights. It was also the final leg of the Marvin Smith Memorial Grove Classic. Thirty-two 360 Sprint Car teams were in attendance from the states of Oregon, Washington, Idaho, and California, as well as British Columbia, Canada. IMCA Modifieds and Street Stocks were also on the card.

    Tyler Driever, from Meridian, Idaho, initially took control of the point at the first drop of the green flag. Unfortunately, the opening circuit failed to be completed due to a multi-car incident. On the second take, Logan Forler got to the point.

    Forler, now calling Boise, Idaho home, set a rapid pace over the rest of the pack. Then, however, he would get bottled up in some hefty lapped traffic, allowing some challengers to come calling. Among them was Justin Sanders in the Demo Mittry-owned entry. Sanders, from Aromas, California, would battle fiercely with Logan for several laps before Sanders took control on lap thirty.

    Forler would get up on the wheel and pursue Justin to try and reoccupy P1. A lap thirty-four incident would pause the battle for the lead. On the restart, Justin Sanders would take off and dominate the rest of the distance. Justin Sanders became the seventh different winner in Marvin Smith Memorial Grove Classic history and the first driver to sweep the entire weekend.

    It is his fourth straight Speedweek Northwest triumph and is the first time since 1999, with Brad Furr, to win four consecutive races in a single season with the series. He also is the sixteenth different driver to capture the Speedweek Northwest title and is the eleventh driver from California to win the championship.

    Logan Forler was second, with third going to Roseville, California’s Jodie Robinson. Jesse Schlotfeldt, from Arlington, Washington, beat out Tyler Driever for fourth. Schlotfeld won the consolation feature earlier in the program.

    Nick Trenchard would score the victory in the IMCA Modifieds. Racing for the Biehn Racing team is the first time that the Klamath Falls driver has won at Cottage Grove Speedway this year. Curtis Towns, from Cottage Grove and racing for car owner Frank Brewer, was second, with Springfield’s Jake Mayden grabbing third. Paul Rea of Eugene and Thurston driver Ricky Ashley were fourth and fifth.

    Daniel Ray got the call up late to pilot the Adam Applebee-owned Street Stock. However, the Springfield chauffeur conquered the field to earn the triumph. Cottage Grove’s Eric Freeman was the runner-up over third finishing Garrett Craig of Veneta. Jordan Robinson, from Scappoose, and Jasper driver Andrew Langan, racing the Josh Linville fielded entry, placed fourth and fifth.

    Cottage Grove Speedway is in action for two nights this coming weekend. The Mark Howard Modified Nationals will be on Friday, August 5th, and Saturday, the 6th. Classes for both nights include the IMCA Modifieds, Royalty Core Custom Grill and Truck Parts IMCA Northern SportMods, and Hardtops. For more information, log on to

    Race Results:
    Speedweek Northwest Round #7
    Marvin Smith Memorial Final Night
    Saturday, July 30th, 2022
    Cottage Grove Speedway
    Cottage Grove, Oregon

    A Feature: 1. 2X-Justin Sanders; 2. 2L-Logan Forler; 3. 4-Jodie Robinson; 4. 21-Jesse Schlotfeldt; 5. 33T-Tyler Driever; 6. 18T-Tanner Holmes; 7. 5H-Blake Carrick; 8. 22-Garen Linder; 9. 33H-Colton Heath; 10. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez; 11. 98H-Matt Hein; 12. 26F-Shane Forte; 13. 1F-D.J. Freitas; 14. 9T-Billy Nutter; 15. 33A-Kyle Alberding; 16. 2XM-Max Mittry; 17. 5-Kenny Wanderstadt; 18. 17C-Chris Bullock; 19. 54S-Drake Standley; 20. 1K-Kinzer Cox; 21. A1-Jared Hood; 22. 8R-Joel Myers Jr.; 23. 31C-Justyn Cox; 24. 12-Steven Snawder

    B Feature: 1. 21-Jesse Schlotfeldt; 2. 33A-Kyle Alberding; 3. 5-Kenny Wanderstadt; 4. 2XM-Max Mittry; 5. 18C-Colby Fox; 6. 4D-Patrick Desbiens; 7. 71L-Korey Lovell; 8. 75-Brian Boswell; 9. 34R-T.J. Richman; 10. 78-Don Trent; 11. 25S-Seth Standley; DNS 34-Melissa Solesbee

    Submitted By: Ben Deatherage

    Back to News

    Our Partners

    Coors Light
    Hoosier Racing Tires
    Fuel N Go
    Welt Elements
    Bonanza Drive-Up
    Speedway Motors IMCA Weekly Series
    Giant Burger
    Pink House
    Rock Auto
    Clark Printing Co.
    Wezels Farm
    Dots Trophy Shop
    Farmlands Market
    Todds Auto Body
    Contingency Connection Racer
    Best Western
    Moose Lodge
    Royalty Core
    Racing Junk

    Contact Us